India vs Australia: Familiar Opponents, Different Goals

India will look to try all the options and fill the gaps with the 2019 Cricket World Cup in England just two months away. From Australia's perspective, all eyes will be on the explosive batsman Glenn Maxwell who has come in form just at the right time in what is expected to be a cracking contest between two familiar opponents.

India vs Australia: Familiar Opponents, Different Goals India vs Australia: Familiar Opponents, Different Goals Source : Press

The 5 match ODI Series between India and Australia starts today. Australia won the T20i series on the back of outstanding performance from Glenn Maxwell across both the games, particularly in the second match where he won the match single-handedly for Australia by his extraordinary innings of 113 not out off 55 deliveries which was his third T20i century. In the first game, Nathan Coulter-Nile's 3 for 26 reduced India to an under par total which Australia barely managed to chase. The T20i series win should give Australia enough confidence as they look for a rare away series win against the mighty Indians who haven't lost a single home ODI series since late 2015 which was against South Africa.

For Australia, Aaron Finch, Alex Carey, Usman Khawaja will be eyeing to score some runs and find form before the World Cup. For India, the middle order of Rayudu, Dhoni and Jadhav will be looking to continue their form and solidify India's middle order. Shankar, Pant, Jadeja and Rahul are the back-ups who will be looking to make the most of their opportunities and make their case in the playing XI.

India needs to be wary of Maxwell threat and Australia will look to get the not give their wickets away to world's leading white-ball spin duo of Kuldeep Yadav and Yuzavendra Chahal. 

There have been injuries for both the teams. Hardik Pandya's back injury resurfaced again and selectors have ruled him out of the entire Limited Overs International series against India. All-rounder Vijay Shankar will replace him in the team. For Australia, their first choice bowlers Starc and Hazlewood have been ruled out because of injuries and recent BBL's highest wicket taker Kane Richardson got injured while training before the first ODI in Hyderabad. Andrew Tye has been called up as his replacement.

The schedule of the series is:

1st ODI: 2nd March at Uppal Stadium, Hyderabad

2nd ODI: 5th March at VCA Stadium, Nagpur

3rd ODI: 8th March at JSCA International Sports Complex, Ranchi

4th ODI: 10th March at IS Bindra Stadium, Chandigarh

5th ODI: 13th March at Feroz Shah Kotla, Delhi.

All the matches are day night and will start at 1:30 PM IST. The matches will telecast live on Star Sports Network, Hotstar and DD National.

Download The Lehren App For Latest News, Gossips And Videos.

You may also like